Dr. Janice LeBel — Board Chair

Dr. Janice LeBel is a licensed, Board-Certified Psychologist with more than twenty five years experience in the public sector working primarily in mental health but also with child welfare, juvenile justice, and intellectual and developmental disability populations. She oversees a statewide system of inpatient, secure residential and community-based care for children and adolescents. Dr. LeBel leads the Department of Mental Health’s’ nationally-recognized Restraint/Seclusion (R/S) Prevention Initiative and an Interagency Initiative with the same focus involving all child-serving state agencies and the public and private special education schools in Massachusetts. She is a founding member of the National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors’ Office of Technical Assistance Center’s (OTA) teaching faculty, co-authored an evidenced-based curriculum on R/S Prevention, and works to implement trauma-informed care and R/S prevention efforts throughout the United States and internationally.

Dr. LeBel was awarded the Governor’s Carballo Award for her work, which is the highest public service award in Massachusetts. In 2009, Dr. LeBel and her team received the Gloria Huntley Award from National Alliance for the Mentally Ill for their statewide R/S prevention effort. In 2010, the Substance Abuse Mental Health Services Administration awarded the MA DMH Child/Adolescent Statewide System, its first Restraint/Seclusion Reduction Recognition Award. Dr. LeBel has provided expert testimony at Congressional Briefings and legal proceedings. She has researched and published on seclusion and restraint-related issues and presented at many national and international forums. Dr. LeBel also serves as a peer reviewer for several journals.

Jerry B. Partlow — Vice-Chairman

Jerry is C.E.O. of Partlow Insurance Agency, Inc. He is a nationally recognized expert on professional and general liability insurance matters for 501(c) 3 organizations as well as medical malpractice insurance. Jerry and his agency are endorsed by various associations across the country including NAPSEC (nationally), VAISEF (Virginia), ASAH (New Jersey), IAPSEC (Illinois) and AAPSEP (Arizona).

Jerry has presented at national and regional conferences on such topics as “When Bad Things Happen to Good Organizations”, “Is Your Organization the Next Second Mile?”, “Employment Practice Liability” and others. He serves on the National Agents and Brokers Advisory Counsel for Philadelphia Insurance Company and recently on the Commercial Lines Task Force for Erie Insurance Group.

Jerry is a native of Winchester, Virginia and attended West Virginia University on a full football scholarship. He served for 12 years on the Winchester City Council, on the Handley Board of Trustees, as a volunteer football coach at Handley High School and various other civic organizations. Jerry is currently on the Board of Directors for the Leary Educational Foundation and an instrument rated pilot.

Osborne F. Abbey, Jr.  — Secretary

Dr. Abbey is a practiced entrepreneur and visionary leader with competence in business development and education design in B2B and B2C markets for private, non-profit, for profit, and public organizations. He presents high levels of expertise in human capital management, grant and RFP development, financial planning, program design and product development, marketing and PR, government relations, and data driven decision making.

Over the course of his distinguished career, Dr. Abbey has led school districts, corporate divisions, and non-profit organizations. He also has for profit and non- profit board experience and currently serves on several non-profit boards. He is a published author and has written often on various aspects of educating children and young adults with learning challenges ranging from autism spectrum to emotional/social and cognitive dysfunction.

Dr. Abbey earned a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from Waynesburg College and a Master of Arts in Special Education from Kean University. He also has a M. Ed and Ed. D in Education Administration from Columbia University.

Demetrius Carmichael — Treasurer

Demetrius has served on the Grafton board since 2008 as a member of the Finance Committee and currently serving as Chair. He is a Certified Public Accountant working at Shenandoah University as the Associate Vice President of Administration and Finance. Demetrius has worked in Higher Education for over 11 years. He has also served our nation in the United States Army for 6 years.

Demetrius attended St Thomas University where he earned a Master’s in Business Administration with a concentration in Accounting. He also completed his Bachelor of Business Administration from the University of Texas.



James Gaynor II, CEO, ProEventa

Brian Hester, Business Service Officer, BB&T

Marc Jaccard, Executive Director at Henry and William Evans Home for Children

Sue Jones, former  Board Chair of Grafton, Trustee at Shenandoah University, Vice Chair of the Clarke County Education Fund, and Chair of Our Health

John Markwood, Ph.D. Vice President, Association Services at Partlow Insurance Agency, former Executive Director of Leary Educational Foundation

Dennis Morrison, Ph.D., C.C.O for NetSmart Technologies

Harry S. Smith, Senior Vice President/Winchester Market Executive, Union First Market Bank

Latest News
Donate Now
For over 50 years Grafton has made a difference in the lives of people challenged by complex disabilities. Beginning at the kitchen table of Ruth Birch, and developing into a multi-state provider of many different services, Grafton is a vibrant and essential part of our community. Your funds help us...
Make A Donation